IEEE Computer Society

27th IEEE (MSST 2011) Symposium on Massive Storage Systems and Technologies

Research Track

IEEE Computer Society

Important Dates

Paper Submission due
(Submissions closed)

January 24th, 2011

(extended from January 17)

Notification February 28th, 2011
Final papers due March 28th, 2011
Research Track May 26th to May 27th, 2011


The 27th IEEE Conference on Mass Storage Systems and Technologies (MSST 2011) will be held in Denver, Colorado, from May 23rd to 27th, 2011, and offers a full week dedicated to storage technology. This year's conference will include a two-day research track of peer-reviewed papers on the design, implementation, and analysis of storage systems on May 26th and 27th. As with prior MSST conferences, this conference will be a top-quality venue for presenting the latest research and development in storage systems and for meeting with colleagues from industry, academia, and government.

We encourage the submission of research papers on the implementation, design, and analysis of file and storage systems. Specific areas of interest for MSST2011 include but are not limited to:

Performance modeling and analysis of scalable storage systems Techniques for building extremely scalable and distributed storage systems
Exascale storage architecture and design Parallel and Distributed File Systems
Evaluation of networked storage architectures Scalable metadata management
Data protection and recovery Storage security, privacy, and provenance
Data archiving Approaches to long-term data preservation and management
Storage in virtualized environments Cloud storage and globally scalable storage approaches
Experience with real system

Submission Instructions

Templates are available at

All papers will receive full, detailed reviews from at least 3 PC members, with acceptance notification provided by February 28th, 2011. Final camera-ready papers, incorporating reviewer comments, must be submitted in PDF format no later than May 28th, 2011, and must conform to the formatting standards described in the Author's Kit, which will be available at the conference site. Full 8-14 page papers will be considered for both full 30 minute presentations and the poster session; please indicate on your submission form if you do not want your paper to be considered for the poster session. Short paper submissions of 3-5 pages in length will only be considered for the poster session.

Questions about technical papers may be directed to the program co-chairs, André Brinkmann and David Pease.

Conference Organizers

Steering Commitee

Sam Coleman, Lawrence Livermore Lab (retired)
Merritt Jones, MITRE Consultant
Ben Kobler, NASA/GSFC
Ethan Miller, UC Santa Cruz

Program Co-Chairs

André Brinkmann, University of Paderborn
David Pease, IBM Almaden Research Center

Program Committee

Ahmed Amer, Santa Clara University
John Bent, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Angelos Bilas, FORTH, Crete
Peter Braam, Xyratex
Phil Carns, Argonne National Laboratory
Toni Cortes, Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Peter Desnoyers, Northeastern University
Markus Draeger, Fujitsu Technology Solutions
Christian Engelmann, Oak Ridge National Lab
Michael Factor, IBM Haifa Research Lab
Dan Feng, HUST, China
Kevin Greenan, Data Domain
Peter Haas, HLRS Stuttgart
Xubin He, Virginia Commonwealth University
Dean Hildebrand, IBM Almaden Research
David Holland, Harvard University
Darrell Long, UC Santa Cruz
Chris Lumb, Data Domain
Ethan Miller, UC Santa Cruz
Matt O'Keefe, Uni. of Minnesota and BakBone Software
Ron Oldfield, Sandia National Laboratory
Shankar Pasupathy, NetApp
Xiao Qin, Auburn University
Raju Rangaswami, Florida Intern. University
Avishay Traeger, IBM
Hakim Weatherspoon, Cornell University
Brent Welch, Panasas
Felix Wolf, German Research School for Simulation Sciences
Qing Yang, University of Rhode Island
Erez Zadok, Stony Brook University
Yifeng Zhu, University of Maine

Page Updated June 10, 2019